To the Editor:

The news from Washington, D.C. is overwhelming. It seems that every day there is more news about this dangerous president who continues to find ways to abuse his power for personal gain, obstruct justice, and much more. Then there is the constant barrage of impeachment news and tweets by this president who is not focused on the welfare of the people he was elected to serve.

However, we are fortunate that there are elected officials who are concerned with the welfare of the people they were elected to serve and they serve in the House of Representatives. Congress has been busy passing over 400 bills, with 250 of those bills passing with bipartisan majorities. One member in particular continues to lead in doing the work to get the job done for the American people, Congressman Jim Himes.

Understanding that voting is a right for all Americans and the opportunity to vote should be easily accessible, Jim voted for HR 1 to expand voting rights. Every day, Americans are struggling to pay for necessary medications and their health care, recognizing these challenges Jim voted for HR 3 to lower prescription drug prices and voted for HR 986 to protect coverage for preexisting conditions. After Sandy Hook, little progress has been made nationally to keep us safe from gun violence; Jim voted for HR 8 to require universal background checks. As the president continues to deny climate change, Jim Himes voted for HR9 to ensure America stays in the Paris Climate Agreement and to take steps to address climate change. Jim continues to fight to repeal the SALT deduction cap.

Unfortunately, Mitch McConnell refuses to take up these bills in the Senate. By refusing to do the work the members of the Senate were elected to do, Americans continue to struggle.

We, in the Connecticut Fourth Congressional District, are fortunate to have Congressman Jim Himes represent us. He has proven time after time that he is a strong, thoughtful leader committed to the welfare of those he was elected to serve.

Evonne M. Klein



On Jan. 14, 2020, registered Darien Democrats caucused at the Town Hall Auditorium to elect the next Darien Democratic Town Committee (“DTC”) for a two year term commencing March 4, 2020.

Current Town Committee Chairman David Bayne chaired the caucus. After calling the caucus to order, the DTC Search Committee’s slate of 20 persons was nominated and seconded. Nominations were then taken from the floor and three additional persons were nominated and seconded for positions on the 2020-22 DTC. Nominations were then closed and all persons nominated were unanimously elected by a voice vote.

The members of the 2020-2022 Darien Democratic Town Committee are:

Frank Adelman

David Bayne

Sean Bunoski

Francisco Cardona

John “JC” Carter

Christine Castles

Loren Gomez

Susan Gray

Elizabeth Hall

David Maloof

Dan Nalawade

Wyatt Piedra

Margaret Rague

Ann Reed

Rob Richards

Glenn Ritch

Jean Sweeney

Sharad Samy

Danica Tarin

David Tarin

Barbara Thorne

Cecil Wade

Lisa Yarnell


To all registered Democrats of Darien, Connecticut:

According to the rules of the Democratic Party and state election laws, a caucus of registered Democrats will be held on January 14, 2020 at 8:00 p.m. at the Darien Town Hall Auditorium, 2 Renshaw Road, Darien, CT 06820 to endorse candidates for the 2020 Darien Democratic Town Committee and to transact such other business that may properly come before the caucus.

Dated:  December 26, 2019

            Darien, CT

                                                                        Darien Democratic Town Committee

                                                                        David F. Bayne, Chairman